Salutatorian Also Excels Outside the Classroom

He’s a scholar and an athlete.

Otto Behrle

And after Saturday’s graduation ceremony, Otto Behrle, 18, can add JSerra Catholic High School salutatorian to his resume.

The JSerra stand-out wide receiver also posted big numbers in the classroom, finishing with a 4.42 GPA.

Behrle, of San Juan Capistrano, plans to hang up his cleats and focus on his studies this fall at USC.

“I don’t know exactly what I want to do,” he says. “But I do know that I want to get in the business field and work with numbers.”

Why did you choose JSerra?

Because I had a lot of opportunity here and a great chance at success.

How well did JSerra prepare you for college – and life beyond? Why?

They taught me valuable lessons and gave me the tools to succeed at the next level.

How did beating Santa Margarita in football rank among your best high school memories?

Definitely among the top few, if not the best, because of the magnitude the game. All the preparation and hours had paid off.

What was your favorite and least favorite subjects and why?

My favorite subjects were math and science because of the teachers and my ability to excel. English was my least favorite.

How challenging was it to balance a demanding athletic schedule with your coursework?

I thought it was very demanding with football. The fall semester of each year would always be the toughest because I had to balance the multiple activities.

What advice would you give to scholar athletes trying to emulate your success?

Make sure to keep a balanced load while keeping your grades up.

How much time did you spend studying?

I spent anywhere between 2-4 hours studying for all 7 periods

What is your favorite JSerra memory?

As of right now, Grad Night.

What advice would you give to incoming freshman?

Get involved in as much as you can because the more you put into it, the more you get out of it.