Former Cal State Fullerton Spirit Squad Advisor and Coach, Sam Shen, to Lead JSerra Cheer

JSerra is proud to announce that former Cal State Fullerton Spirit Squad Advisor and Coach, Sam Shen, will be leading JSerra’s Pep Squad, starting May 2011. She will coach varsity song and cheer while also serving as Pep Squad Advisor.

As the former Cal State Fullerton Spirit Squad advisor and coach, Shen has led her teams to ten UDA national Dance titles and four USA National Dance Team Championships in thirteen years.

Shen has been coaching and advising spirit programs for 18 years at various institutions. She has attained over 7 years of competitive gymnastics experience, and has also expanded her knowledge by competing as a platform and springboard diver.

“I do what I do because I am passionate,” said Shen. “I love my kids, I love my programs, I love the energy and the experience. Challenging young people to push themselves to be stronger athletes within their sport, and mature individuals within their lives, is the reward I receive every day that I coach.”

Shen started her coaching career at St. Pius V School in Buena Park, as an adviser to cheerleaders and dancers from fifth to eighth grade. Shortly after, she was given the opportunity to lead the nationally-ranked competitive dance team, cheer squad and mascot program at Cal State University Fullerton to multiple titles.

“I am so excited about Sam joining JSerra. She brings a wealth of experience to JSerra that our Pep Squad has never had. Most recently, she was the Spirit Squad Advisor and Coach for Cal State Fullerton, a position she has held for the past 13 years. Sam is a decorated gymnast herself and is certified by the American Association of Cheerleading Coaches and Administrators and the U.S. All-Star Federation. Sam is passionate and energetic about her programs and I know she will help develop a truly exceptional Pep Squad program at JSerra.” said Donna Vandenberg, Vice-Principal of Student Services.

Shen will host a pep squad informational meeting on Monday, May 2 from 6:30-8:00 pm in the west end of the Center Room. Tryout forms will be due May 10 and tryout clinics are May 18-19 from 3:30-5:30. You can email Mrs. Shen with questions by clicking here.