Kaitlin O’Hara Talks About Her Future as a Trojan

By Scott Martindale, OC Register

Kaitlin O’Hara, a senior at JSerra Catholic High School in San Juan Capistrano, will attend USC this fall, after being

Kaitlin O'Hara, JSerra Senior

rejected from her first choice, UCLA. The Laguna Hills resident said she was aware of funding issues that have constricted enrollment at UC campuses, but that it didn’t soften her initial disappointment. “I was very, very disappointed; I started thinking about every little thing I did in high school that I could have done a little better,” said O’Hara, 17, who has a weighted 4.75 GPA and a composite ACT score of 30. “What did I do wrong? Why didn’t I raise my scores a little more?” But now she’s excited about USC and has realized that in retrospect, UCLA might not have been the best fit for her. “Looking now at other places I got into, UCLA may not have been the best choice – budget cuts being a big negative to UCLA,” said O’Hara, an aspiring physician who plans to major in psychology or biology. “I like that USC has the big-time sports, the Greek system, a big student body.”

For the Full Story click here.