Katerine Delaney Wins the 1600 in CIF Finals in Record Time

*Currently running the OC Varsity

JSerra senior Katherine Delaney continued a spectacular season in the 1,600. Holding the lead throughout the race, she won

JSerra's Katherine Delaney leads the pack on the way to winning the 1,600 meters at the CIF-SS Track & Field Division 4 Finals in Cerritos on Saturday.

the Division 4 title with a lifetime best effort of 4:46.82.

That time was the fastest among all four divisions and is the eighth fastest in county history.

“I came into this with a positive mind frame and I pushed myself as far as I could,” said Delaney, who is second in the state this season. “I feel honored and exhilarated that all my hard work is paying off.”

Delaney (2:14.00) also finished second in the Division 4 800 final to qualify for the Master’s meet.

For the full article click CIF.