Frankie Bastone is 2011 Salutatorian & JSerra Award Recipient

On Saturday, June 4, Francis “Frankie” Bastone led the crowd in prayer at JSerra’s 6th annual commencement exercises. Shortly thereafter, Principal Tom Waszak invited Frankie back up to present to him the JSerra Award, our school’s highest honor. The following is Mr. Waszak’s remarks about the award and why Frankie was chosen to receive it:

“The JSerra Award is JSerra’s highest honor.  It is conferred upon a graduating senior who in addition to general excellence, most nearly embodies the Christian ideals enumerated in JSerra’s mission and philosophy.  Would Francis Bastone please step forward.

Francis, you are one of the most highly respected members of your class and of the entire student body.  You stand before us today because you are an outstanding example of the JSerra graduate at graduation.  For each of the past four years, you have steadily and consistently worked to be the best version of yourself and in so doing you have brought honor and distinction to yourself, your family, and to JSerra.  Whether it’s in the classroom, the ASB office, on the field, or in the courtyard you have conducted yourself in a manner that corresponds with the ideals upon which JSerra was founded and the goals we strive to achieve.  As a scholar you demonstrated the values of hard work and determination by earning a 4.3 academic GPA while challenging yourself with a rigorous schedule that included 11 honors and AP classes.  Your exceptional grades have earned you membership in the National Honor Society and the California Scholarship Federation; recognition as a JSerra scholar athlete and the CIF Southern Section Scholar Athlete of the year.  As an athlete you achieved the highest level of personal success on a team sport in the history of JSerra:  4 year varsity starter and varsity letterman, all-Trinity League first team as a sophomore, junior, and senior; first team all CIF; first team all county; Trinity League Most Valuable Defensive player; and JSerra MVP.  In addition to these personal achievements you were a key contributor on JSerra’s first team Trinity League and Division I CIF championship and the first varsity team to win back-to-back Trinity League titles.  Equally impressive are your leadership skills; four year varsity soccer team captain, President of Caritas Christi, and senior class president.  While your achievements are notable, your most impressive attributes – those which make you the embodiment of this award – is your integrity, your humility, and your selfless commitment to serve.  Your commitment to excellence and the respect you show others is a strong message to all students that young people who possess a strong sense of self based on Gospel values can make a difference in this world.  You have accepted the responsibility for your personal growth and you have demonstrated a sincere and humble appreciation for the opportunities that you have been blessed to experience.  You have displayed these personal traits and characteristics each and every day for the past four years, and that is why you stand before us today as the recipient of the most prestigious honor to be conferred upon a graduating senior at JSerra Catholic High School.   Ladies and gentleman, with deep respect and admiration, I present to you the JSerra Award winner for the class of 2011. Francis “Frankie” Bastone.”

JSerra blog had the opportunity to speak with Frankie shortly after he was awarded the salutatorian title. The following is a Q&A with Frankie moderated by JSerra’s Amanda Samaan.

Only 18 years old, Frankie Bastone has already compiled an eye-popping resume filled with academic, athletic and social accomplishments.

JSerra Catholic High School’s senior class president. Captain of the school’s first CIF championship team in a boy’s sport. Scholarship to play soccer at Santa Clara University.

And on Saturday, he graduated as salutatorian with a special notation on his diploma for his success in the school’s competitive medical magnet program.

But ask Frankie Bastone, son of former Mission Hospital CEO Peter Bastone, and he’ll tell you his work has only just begun.

Q: What do you hope to accomplish in college?

A: I hope to grow as a person and build a foundation of knowledge, faith, and leadership to pursue a career and vocation in healthcare. I hope attending Santa Clara University, a Jesuit University, will continue to form me as a Catholic in morals, values, and ethics.The challenges and opportunities JSerra has provided me in leadership was nothing short of extraordinary. Athletically my goal at Santa Clara is to support the team in winning a NCAA Division I Championship.

Q: Being a part of the Medical Magnet Program at JSerra, is it safe to say medicine is something you want to pursue in college?

A: Yes! (Teacher) Betty Cappelletti – or B Capp as we call her – has helped me find my passion in medicine I want to major in Public Health and/or Psychology.

Q: Do you feel any pressure because of who your father is?

A: There’s always pressure by everyone’s parents. I didn’t feel I was any different. Everyone measures success differently and for me it was about making my own name, and my dad is okay with that. He has always supported my decisions and helped guide me, especially when I was thinking in the short-term; he helped me make decisions that are more for the long-term. We’re pretty close and like to push each other’s buttons for fun, so I don’t think that he puts too much pressure on me.

Q: How did you decide on Santa Clara, after the tug-of-war with Stanford and Harvard?

A: It wasn’t easy, but I decided to keep my Rainbows on my feet and stay in California because it is more accessible for my family and friends, and this is of great importance to me. Also beginning to professionally network in California where I intend to live was important as well.

Q: When your 10-year high school reunion comes along for JSerra what do you want to be able to come back and say you have accomplished?

A: Ten years, that seems so far away. Well I hope to be married with maybe one child if I’m done with school. I want to complete my degree in medicine and begin in a practice in Orthopaedics. I also hope to be driving the Audi R8, my dream car.

Q: How did you get into soccer?

A: (Laughing) I have been playing soccer since I could walk. My dad always pushed sports, having played football (at Princeton) himself. But I did also play volleyball and baseball.

Q: What’s your greatest JSerra memory?

A: Being the 1st team to win a CIF Championship in the history of JSerra and leaving that legacy behind. (laughing) Jumping in the pool after I gave my salutatorian speech at the Senior Awards Mass. I will never forget how many texts I got the night before trying to spread the word. Also, when we beat Santa Margarita in Football my sophomore year, I remember we went crazy when we won.