Kat Delaney Featured in the Premire Issue of HS Illustrated

*Current issue of High School Illustrated

CAL Bound 3-Sport Athlete and the 2010 Athlete of the Year Gears Up for College

Growing up and entering into high school, Katherine always enjoyed all sports – at age eight she was in gymnastics, soccer and swimming and was introduced to running by her swim coach.

Entering JSerra High School as a sophomore, Katherine found a great relationship with the school and its sports program. Katherine was determined to compete in multiple sports and JSerra gave her the opportunity.

HIS discussed Katherine’s High School journey and here’s what she had to say.

When did you start running competitively?

When we moved to Orange County, I was 11 and my swim coach at Irvine Novaquatics, Andi Kwamoto-Klatt suggested that I try a track meet because I was running really well in practice. I ran my first USATF meet at age 12 – at the time I was just swimming a few times a week and running maybe five miles per week for swim practice.

What are some of your favorite memories about high school sports?

I just had a lot of fun with my friends in practice and especially hanging out together and competing in meets. I have some great friendships – in fact, I swim with Casey Mimms who has been swimming with me since I was 11. Casey will be attending Cal with me in the fall.

What are your long-term goals?

I am excited to be attending University of California Berkeley on an athletic scholarship for running. I am very new to the s[port of distance running, so I hope to get faster as I continue to train at CAL. I would like to qualify for Olympic Trails Section meet 2016 in the 1500m and compete for a spot on the US Olympic Team.

During the season, what’s your daily workout regiment?

For the week, I typically run four days a week. I swim 2-3 days depending on the intensity of my running week. I do core and stability training twice a week at Supreme Fitness in Irvine.

A typical day mid-season would be, 6:00 wake up- 8:00 school – 2:30 pm home – 3:30 – 4:30 run – 5:00- 6:00 core training – 7:00 – 10:00 homework 10:30 bed.

When I don’t run I train swimming from 3:30-6:00 and I don’t do core training on those days.

Eating right is important for any athlete – what’s your daily meal plan look like?

Breakfast: Cream of wheat, yogurt and fruit

Mid Morning Snack: ½ Protein Shake

Lunch: Turkey sandwich, fruit and ½ Protein Shake

Post Workout Snack: Powerbar or trail mix and Gatorade

Dinner: Sushi, steamed vegetables and fruit

Late Night: low fat cottage cheese and fruit

You are a three- sport athlete and excel at all – can you tell us how your life is and how you fit everything into your schedule?

It has been very crazy especially swimming and running track in the same CIF season. I can remember my freshman year after running the 1600m and the 800m at league finals, walking down to the pool and swimming league finals within 30 min of my 800m races. In my sophomore year the two sports held league finals at different schools on the same day, so we had to drive from Santa Ana to Santa Margarita and I missed some of the swim events. This year it is easier because I am focused on running and I use swimming to get additional aerobic work done on recovery days from running.

What is your favorite high school sport memory?

Winning the 2010 D4 State Cross Country Team Championship at Woodward Park.

What advice can you give incoming youth athletes?

I would advise them to try different sports and stick with the sports the love. Don’t be pressured to focus on one sport because there is plenty of time to do that in college. Take time off to relax and recover from training and your season.

What are you hobbies outside playing your sport?

I love hanging out with my sister – we love to ride mountain bikes and go to the beach. I also enjoy painting.

Who is your biggest inspiration in life? And Why?

Coach John Wooden, because he had a powerful, positive message how he lived his life and coached his players. My dad told me to read his book – I recommend it to all athletes.

If you could thank or acknowledge someone who would it be and why?

Because I am a multisport athlete, I would like to thank JSerra High School for giving me the flexibility for both sports and I would thank:

Coach Andi Kawamoto-Klatt: Coach Andi is the reason I tried running track. She is an amzing swim coach and Pilate’s instructor.

Coach Jerry Palazzo (Equalizer Track Club): Jerry has been my running coach since I was 12. He is an awesome coach who is very careful and he is very positive and motivating.

Coach Brian Pajer (Irvine Aquazots): Brian is an Olympic level swim coach who is responsible for developing some of the best swimmers in US history.  Have learned a lot about work ethic from Brian and attention to detail.

Norm MCCallso (Supreme Fitness): Norm is an expert fitness coach who has trained some of the world’s best athletes. I enjoy our training sessions so much because they work so well.