Mr. Stroupe Given Canadian Interrogation

Pulled aside by Canadian Police just off of a flight from Maine at only 25 Eric Stroupe, JSerra’s Vice Principal of Curriculum and Instruction, literally gave a speech to get off the hook. Now see what he has been up to since his time under the bright lights of the Canadian Police and all the great things he has done to help shape the young minds of JSerra’s next generation.

Eric Stroupe out on the water while in high school.

How many years have you been teaching? Sixteen

How many years have you been teaching at JSerra? Eight

Whats your role at JSerra?

Vice Principal for Curriculum and Instruction

What is your favorite event during the school year?

Friday night football games!

Were you involved in any clubs in high school or college?

ASB President, band, basketball, Christians in Sport, CSF, NHS

What do you hope to accomplish before you retire?

Visit and camp at about dozen national parks with my family

What was your first job? “Courtesy clerk” (i.e., bag boy) at Vons

What was your favorite high school memory?

Running all of the ASB activities. Our ASB was quite a bit smaller than JSerra’s. The other three officers and I did a lot of the heavy lifting and put in a LOT of hours before and after school and on the weekends, but it was a blast! Our events were always well-attended and a lot of fun.

What was your childhood dream job? (astronaut, firefighter, etc) I wanted to be in Congress, probably as a Senator.

Were you voted anything in high school? (best eyes, best hair, etc) Most Likely to Succeed.

If you could live in any time period other than now, what would it be?

Post-WWII America


Who or what was your inspiration that drove you to become a teacher?

I love the process of learning and I love teaching. Wanting to continually learn more things led me to a career in education.

What was your favorite band growing up? Echo and the Bunnymen

Favorites:

Food: Sushi


TV Show: Law & Order


Animal: Dogs

Sports team: Raiders

Color: Blue

Author: Paul Johnson

Celebrity crush: Julia Roberts

Vacation spot: Outer Banks

Fun Fact & Random Acts:

When I was in grad school and about 25 years-old, I was given a full interrogation when entering Quebec, Canada from northern Maine. The Canadian border patrol questioned me (as well as a friend and my brother) for about 90 minutes asking me about my reasons for coming to Canada. We were placed in a room with a large, single light over a table, just as in the movies. At the time, I was on my way to speak at a convention in Quebec City, so my motives were legitimate.

But because I had been camping in Maine for about a week (without shaving or showering), I am sure the three of us looked rather sketchy. They kept asking me about my criminal record (which I didn’t have), whether or not I liked to fight, and what my intentions were with Canadian women. They finally released us once I was able to provide them a copy of my speech. Looking back it was quite funny, but at the time I was more than a little nervous!