Master Marathoner Olivia Huie Takes a Break to Chat with JSerra Blog

Director of Counseling, Olivia Huie

Climbing the Great Wall of China not once but twice, JSerra’s Director of Counseling Olivia Huie sat down with JSerra Blog to offer some interesting fun facts about this anteater alumnus.

How long have you been an Academic Counselor?

I’ve been a counselor for six years and at JSerra for three years.

What is your favorite topic to cover during the year? College and purpose

Were you involved in any clubs in high school or college?

I was the associated student body treasurer, secretary and president (not at the same time). I was also the founder of our drama club, so I was the drama queen.

What do you hope to accomplish before you retire?

I’d love to travel to at least a dozen different places out of the country. I’d also like to obtain a doctorate degree at some point.

What was your first job? I worked retail at a men’s clothing store in the mall.

What was your favorite high school memory?

Hanging out with friends at the same lunch table and eating chili cheese fries from the food truck that came everyday. We didn’t have a bistro or a cafeteria for that matter.

What was your childhood dream job? I wanted to be a pediatrician.

Were you voted anything in high school? I was voted class clown and best smile.

What’s your favorite sports team?

Notre Dame football is my favorite and only because I married into the cult.

If you could live in any time period other than now, what would it be?

The 60’s because it seemed groovy.

Who or what was your inspiration that drove you to become a Counselor?

I wanted to become a counselor when I worked with underprivileged youth in downtown LA. I figured they needed a good role model and a leader to help guide them to opportunities.  I felt like I needed to be that person to be the “change I wanted to see in the world.”

Favorites:

Food: Yogurtland, wine and cheese

TV Show: American Idol and HGTV

Animal: turtles and owls

Sports team: Chicago Bulls and ND Irish

Color: Purple

Vacation spot: Costa Rica

Author: I love Paulo Coehlo

Who is your celebrity crush? You’ll have to ask me this in person I’m not sharing. I don’t want him to find out.

Favorite band growing up: Milli Vanilli, until they got caught lip syncing at their own concert, and I saw it on TLC.

Fun Facts and Random Acts

In grad school, I decided to pick up running and had this goal to run a marathon before the age of 30. So, I joined Team in Training, an organization that raises money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. I had a special connection to blood cancer, so I thought it would be a great idea to train and give back at the same time.  I ran my first marathon in 2006 and have since completed four marathons and eight half marathons including Los Angeles, San Francisco and Chicago. I’m currently training to complete the Nike Women’s Marathon in San Francisco this fall. I not only do it for the medals, but mainly to help those in need.

I also love photography and have won two contests where my pictures have been placed on the front pages in magazines.

Lastly, in the short time I’ve been a counselor I have been promoted twice to director of counseling.