JSerra Welcomes New Lion Cub

Newest lion cub Hunter Gabriel Morales

Congratulations to JSerra’s religion teacher Cara Morales and her husband Justin on the birth of their son  Hunter Gabriel Morales. Hunter was born on July 6 weighing 7 lbs 9 oz and measured 20 1/2
inches.  ” It’s almost
been a month and we are adjusting to our newest family member well.
Except for the sleepless nights and poopy diapers being a parent has
proven to be a huge blessing,” said Morales.

Steve Nieto Brings JSerra Freshman Together

Steve Nieto posing for his high school football team photo

Football Coach, teacher and mentor Steve Nieto brings the JSerra community together, through the freshman success class. Giving each JSerra freshman the tools they need to succeed in high school to tips and tricks on the football field. JSerra Blog met up with Neito on the field to talk about his journey from high school to high school teacher.

How many years have you been teaching at JSerra?

I have been teaching for 13 years and the 2011-2012 school year will be my fifth year teaching at JSerra.

What subjects do you teach?

Freshmen success, health, psychology, history of sports, I also taught world history here at JSerra.

What is your favorite topic to cover during the year?

E-mail etiquette in freshman success, Teeth in health, Freud in psychology, Lombardi in history of sports and Vietnam in world history.

Were you involved in any clubs in high school or college?

None, I worked full-time and coached football all throughout college.

What do you hope to accomplish before you retire?

Don’t plan on retiring.

What was your first job?

El Pollo Loco for 15 minutes, I walked out when I was being forced to wear a cowboy hat.

What was your favorite high school memory?

Football games & leaving campus for lunch.

What was your childhood dream job? Pilot

If you could live in any time period other than now, what would it be?

In the 2011-2012 school year as a Freshmen

Who or what was your inspiration that drove you to become a teacher?

My bad teachers in school, my good coaches in school, and my great youth football players that I coached out of high school.

Favorites

Food: Pasta

TV Show: Office & Curb your Enthusiasm

Animal: Alligator

Sports team: JSerra Lions

Color: Black & Red

Vacation spot: Any beach with the family

Sports team college/Pro: Cowboys & Raiders, Lakers, USC & FSU

 Author: John Wooden

Band growing up: Bob Marley, Metallica, NWA, Wolfgang, name it I liked it.

Celebrity crush: Farrah Fawcett

Fun Facts & Random Acts

I started coaching football right out of high school and at 17 years old I was made a head coach. In fact, I was the youngest head coach in youth football history and when we made the playoffs I was asked to not disclose this information because of the fact that you had to be an adult of 18 years old to be in the head coach position. This will also be my 21st year in coaching.