Jonavaughn Williams carves his own path

JSerra senior and varsity receiver Jonavaughn Williams is carving his own path this season. Williams, a standout player in the Edison Passing Tournament, already has been featured in the L.A. Times for his ability to run plays, catch and execute patterns on a consistent basis. He was also a star at this year’s USC Nike Football Camp.

Williams sat down with JSerra Blog to talk about his successes and his future in football. Here is more about JSerra’s leading receiver.

What made you choose JSerra?

I actually came to JSerra to play for the basketball team; now I play football and I love it. I tried football three years ago and have been hooked ever since. I found that it was more fun for me and I get to hit people with a purpose. It kind of gets my adrenaline going, making me more defensive.

Summer plans:

I’m really excited about going to Mississippi for a family reunion later this summer. I also went to check out some really great schools: Stanford, Berkeley, USC, UCLA and Oregon — all schools I dream of playing college ball at.

What did you like best about the JSerra Football camp?

We have the best coaches. Coach Hartigan has really helped me improve on my skills to make me a more competitive player. I also really like the challenge of playing in the most competitive high school league.

What’s the craziest thing you have ever done?

Night snorkeling in Catalina. It was so crazy and so much fun. I don’t think I will ever forget that.

Best summertime memory:

Family vacations are always my favorite. No matter where we go it’s just about fun with my family.

Sports-related injuries:

I actually got kicked in the head by my own teammate. He was punting and as I tried to block him he kicked me in the head and gave me a concussion.

Favorites

TV show: “That ’70s Show”

Restaurant: Roscoe’s Chicken & Waffles

Animal: Penguin

Color: Red

Sports team: Lakers & Saints

Sport:  Football

Dream car: Lamborghini Murcielago

Athlete: Kobe Bryant

Celebrity crush: Alex Morgan, U.S. Women’s Soccer team