JSerra hosts Surviving and Thriving in High School Night with college guidance mentor Debbie Morgan

*A Press Release from JSerra Catholic High School

JSerra Catholic High School is offering the Orange County community a free opportunity to have their questions answered about when to start looking into colleges for their children.

College guidance mentor Debbie Morgan will moderate a workshop called “Surviving and Thriving in High School.” The event is scheduled for Aug. 25 at the JSerra Pavilion at JSerra Catholic High School. It begins at 6:30 p.m.

“It is never too early to begin the process of thoughtful preparation – academically and personally,” Morgan said. “It is becoming more imperative for students with the hope, dream and goal of one day attending college to become well acquainted with what will be expected of them.”

“Debbie offers important tips on how to prepare for the future during these uncertain times. We hope parents take advantage of this one-time opportunity to hear from one of the region’s foremost education experts,” said Frank Talarico, JSerra President.

While the presentation is geared toward families with middle school and high school-age students, it offers information of value to all parents looking for tips about how to improve their children’s educational opportunities, Morgan said.

Morgan’s professional background includes serving as Capistrano Unified School District’s director of college guidance services from 1998 to 2007. She has an English degree from the University of Southern California.

About JSerra Catholic High School

Just eight years old, JSerra Catholic High School is quickly becoming one of the region’s top university preparatory institutions. Its graduates include National Merit Scholarship winners, Ivy League university students and Division I collegiate athletes. Located in San Juan Capistrano, the school features $110-million facilities, including a state-of-the-art $40 million athletic complex. For more, visit www.jserra.org.

Casey Eugenio has his eye on Berkeley

Casey Eugenio at the Top Gun football camp in Williamsburg, Virginia

Fifteen-year-old Casey Eugenio has already caught the attention of college scouts and the press. He has attended the Top Gun football camp in Williamsburg, Va. After guidance from some of the top coaches in the National Football League, Eugenio is looking forward to a great season. Eugenio took some time to sit down with the JSerra Blog to talk about his experiences at JSerra, his  football career and his Berkeley dream.

Interests/hobbies:

I really like going to the beach and body boarding. I also took up spearfishing and wakeboarding. I guess you can say that I love anything that has to do with the water, even if it’s frozen, because I really like snowboarding too.

Summer plans:

I went to the Top Gun football camp in Virginia, where I had the opportunity to really improve my skills with National Football League coaches leading the camp. I had scouts from around the country watch me play.

Any sports-related injuries?

Nothing too serious. I have had a few broken ankles before, but that’s about it.

What is your top pick for college?

Well, my dream is Cal Berkeley, but who knows where I’ll end up. My goal is to get to a really great school and play Division I football.

What’s the craziest thing you have ever done?

My first time spearfishing was with leopard sharks at Catalina Island. I was so incredibly scared and excited all at the same time.

Best summer memory?

My favorite memories were always the ones with my grandparents. We used to go on all kinds of trips. We even did a cruise to Mexico one year.

Favorites

TV show: “Sports Center” and cartoons

Food: Pizza

Animal: Cheetah

Car: Audi and Porsche

Pro athlete: Reggie Bush

Celebrity crush: Theresa Palmer