Commissioned by President Obama, JSerra Aquatics Director Heads to Mexico

*Special note by Julie Ertel, JSerra Aquatics Director
Although it was a quick trip, just 36 hours, it was jam packed with experiences.
Friday morning I was given a private tour of the sights and landmarks of Guadalajara.  In the morning I visited the Governor’s palace, saw a cathedral, went to an old theater where they used to hold congress, saw a museum with ancient Mayan artifacts, visited another museum that explained the process if making tequila and went to an outdoor market.
Midday I was part of a press conference at the US Consulate.  That evening we attended a VIP reception for dignitaries, Olympic Organizing Committees and big sponsors followed by the Opening Ceremonies. Even though I have taken part in three Pan Am Games and two Olympic Games, the athletes usually only see a fraction of the Opening Ceremonies so it was nice to see the whole show and from a different perspective.
The Opening Ceremonies were fantastic.  It was a blend of art, dance, music and athleticism.  And the audience was enthusiastic which added to the excitement.
I enjoyed meeting the ambassador and seeing the president of Mexico.  And it is always fun to see the athletes march in and witness the joy on their faces for qualifying for the games.  I hope that I can bring this enthusiasm back to the girls water polo team at JSerra.

I was so honored to be selected to represent the US in this manner.  It was truly an opportunity of a lifetime.