2nd Annual Shepherd’s Christmas Luncheon Brings Tears of Joy

IMG_2813JSerra hosted the second Annual Christmas Luncheon and Boutique this December and brought the gift of a Christ-filled education to even more students.

With a room full of holiday excitement parents, teachers, and community members gathered for an afternoon of fellowship, a live auction, and even a fashion show featuring students, faculty, and staff.

After a whirlwind of a live auction guests heard from two JSerra alumni, Colette Van Dyke and Andres Villalobos, on their JSerra experience and how the Shepherd’s Program changed their lives forever.

“JSerra’s financial aid program made everything possible for me, and for that I am deeply grateful,” said 2008 Alumnus and graduate of UCLA, Colette Van Dyke. “More than anything, JSerra taught me to judge myself not only on my professional accomplishments, but on how well I’ve addressed the world’s deepest inequities—on how well I’ve treated people who have nothing in common with me but their humanity.”

The spirit of thankfulness and humanity continued as one of JSerra’s first graduates of the class of 2006 spoke from his heart sharing his journey to overcoming academic and financial obstacles to graduate college and earn his MBA.

“I am so thankful for those gracious enough to believe in me, and my ability to grow as a person, and as a professional,” said Villalobos. “Some of the very people in this room have given me so much and I am so thankful, and eternally indebted to them. I went from less than acceptable grades to graduating with a 4.0 GPA and a Masters degree in business and entrepreneurship.”

With a widely successful event, co-chairs Amy David and Tracy Kozlowski shared a message to everyone who attended and so graciously gave to the Shepherd’s Financial Aid Program.

“After a stunning sold out event we are so grateful to those who have understood our mission of providing a Christ-filled education through out Shepherd’s program.

It is not too late to give the ultimate gift Christmas gift to a very deserving student who through your generosity can begin school her in January.”

If you would like to contribute to the Shepherd’s Program please contact Lisa Mitaux at lmitaux@jserra.org.

To view the complete Shepherd’s album click Fashion Show.

To view the Shepherd’s video click here.