JSerra Photography Students Win Esteemed Awards in International Competition

JSerra photo competition participants

Congratulations to our JSerra photography students and their teacher Ms. Stehney for their excellence in photography.

This years Photo Imaging Education Association has recognized Samantha Zuck, Halo St. Clair, Keaton Siomkin, Jeremy Hall, Caroline Koss, Kaitlin O’Neill, and Alison Malamud, for there outstanding photography.

This year’s 2011 Photo Imaging Education Association (PIEA) International Student- Teacher Photo Competition, has awarded each student with more than $350 dollars in gift card awards.

The purpose of the competition is to discover and recognize talented students. The competition highlights the creativity, talent, and photography of students and teachers around the world.

This is a rigorously juried show, requiring students and their teachers to demonstrate and maintain high aesthetic standards in photography.

Our students created either digital capture photos, wet darkroom photos, or a portfolio.

Alison Malamud submitted a portfolio and spent hours revising her prints to achieve a high level of professionalism. “It has been and honor to participate in an international competition and see how our students and my work compares to other students around the world,” said Malamud. “I  believe our work is superior and demonstrated outstanding skill in creativity and process.”

Our JSerra students stood above the rest and showed the immense artistic abilities through their outstanding photographs.



Congratulations To The 2010 Underclassmen Award Winners

Each year, JSerra recognizes the stellar achievements of our 9-11 grade students at the annual Underclassmen Awards. The awards are presented at an all-school assembly in early June. On June 7, ten awards were given to 22 outstanding JSerra students. Congratulations to the recipients:

College Book Awards:
Shannon Brady, junior, Princeton University
Haleigh Cummings, junior, University of Nebraska

Christian Service Certificates:
Eddie Pruette and Courtney Avila, juniors
Trent Boice and Shea O’Reilly, sophomores
Hunter Kempf and Danielle White, freshmen

CEO Lion Challenge
Parker Wells, freshman

Faculty Award:
Jeremy Hall and Chloe Kempf, juniors
Danielle Perazzo and Sarah David, sophomores
John Shaver and Vanessa Zuck, freshmen

Class Award:
Michael Portillo and Shannon Brady, juniors
Greg Poré and Heather Rosen, sophomores
Sachin Govil and Rebecca Millard, freshmen

Gillian Marie Sabet Scholarship Award
Katie Linehan, junior

Athlete of the year:
Jonathan Schaefer, junior
Sydney Teske, senior

Check back in the coming days for features on some of our award winners and information on what each award means.