Getting to know Frater David

JSerra Blog sat down with Fr. David to chat about his career and his love of the L.A. Dodgers.

Fr. David is passionate about the Dodgers.

How many years have you been teaching at JSerra? I have been teaching at JSerra going on two years. But I have been a teacher for twelve years already; how time flies.

What subject do you teach?

Religion at JSerra and U.S. history at St. Michael’s Prep High School.

What is your favorite topic to cover during the year?

Original sin and the war for Southern independence.

Were you involved in any clubs in high school or college?

Tactical studies rules club, journalism club, young capitalists of America, computer programmers anonymous, anti-communist league and the Richard Nixon club.

What do you hope to accomplish before you retire?

I want to play catch with Pete Rose.

What was your first job?

I was a freelance photographer for the local community newspaper.

What was your favorite high school memory?

Graduation was my best memory, nothing beats hearing your name and walking across the stage.

What was your childhood dream job? 

I wanted to be a movie projectionist. Getting paid to watch movies for the rest of my life? Yep.

If you could live in any time period other than now, what would it be?

Three hundred and twelve years from now.

Who or what inspired you to become a teacher?

Father Guido Sarducci was my inspiration.

Favorites

Food: Chinese

TV show: Japanese game shows

Animal: Rhino (I want to hunt and kill one before I die)

Sports team: The Dodgers! (The only MLB team actually located in Los Angeles.)

Color: Dodger blue

Vacation spot: Chavez Ravine Vacation Resort

Sports team: The Hong Kong Cavaliers

Author: Stan Lee

Favorite band: Dr. Demento

Celebrity crush:

As a kid, the car from “Mad Max”—the last of the V-8 Interceptors.

Fun facts & random acts:

For my former freshmen students: I am enjoying yet another hot, steamy bowl of rabbit stew. Mmmmm … good.